Team Create

Team Create is a Studio feature that lets you collaborate on place and script editing with other creators. Once enabled, creators with the correct permissions can invite others, and each collaborator can see the changes others make while they work.

Enabling Team Create

You can enable Team Create for an experience when you first save it to Roblox. You can also enable it for an already-saved experience.

  1. In the View tab, click Team Create.

  2. With the Team Create window open, click the Turn On button.

Once enabled, the window shows a list of creators who have play or editing permissions for the experience. Studio assigns a color to each creator to help identify them during the editing session.

Managing Collaborators

If you own the experience, you can add individual collaborators. If a group owns the experience, the owner can edit which group roles have editing permissions.

Individuals

While you can grant play permissions to any user, you can only grant editing permissions to your friends. To give editing permissions to individual collaborators for an experience that you own:

  1. In the Home tab, click Game Settings.

  2. In the left column, click Permissions.

  3. In the Collaborators section, search for a creator by their Roblox username. Click their username to add them as a collaborator.

  4. Select Edit from the permission menu.

Group Roles

The owner of a group can manage which roles have editing permissions.

All Group Experiences

To manage which roles in a group have editing permissions for all group experiences:

  1. Navigate to the Groups page and select the group.

  2. Click the button in the upper-right corner and select Configure Group.

  3. In the left column, select the Roles tab.

  4. For each group role that you want to give editing permissions to, enable Create and edit group experiences.

Specific Group Experience

To manage which roles in a group have editing permissions for a specific experience:

  1. With the experience open in Studio, click Game Settings from the Home tab.

  2. In the left column, click Permissions.

  3. In the Game Owner section, expand the tree next to the group icon.

  4. For each group role that you want to give editing permissions to, select Edit from the permission menu.

  5. Click Save.

Accessing a Session

Those who have permission to edit an experience can join a Team Create session as follows:

  1. Close all currently open places in Studio, or restart Studio.

  2. Select the Shared With Me tab for individually-managed games, or the Group Games tab if it's a group game.

  3. Click the desired tile to begin editing.

Collaborative Building

All collaborators can manipulate objects, and the changes automatically appear for other collaborators.

User Color

Each collaborator in a session has a color behind their avatar in the Team Create window.

When a collaborator selects an object, a selection box in their color appears around the object in the 3D view. The Explorer window also indicates when a collaborator selects an object.

Undo and Redo

If multiple creators have made edits to a part or instance, pressing Undo for that object reverts it to the state before you made a change and revert all changes that other editors might have made following your latest edit.

Collaborative Scripting

If Team Create is on, Roblox stores scripts in a central cloud-based repository that all collaborators can access. This allows creators to:

  • Independently work on the same script that others are editing.
  • Know when others are working on a script.
  • Test changes locally before committing them to the cloud.
  • Compare and commit script changes to the cloud when ready.

Drafting Scripts

You can edit scripts while collaborators edit them and playtest scripts locally without affecting the experience for others. After you finish drafting a script, you can commit it to the cloud and Team Test the cloud version with collaborators.

When editing a script, it appears in the Drafts window, accessible from the View tab. Drafts are saved to your local file system and persist between Studio sessions on the same machine.

Comparing Local and Cloud Scripts

To compare a local draft of a script with the version saved to the cloud:

  1. Right-click the local draft.

  2. Select Compare with server to open the Diff Result window.

  3. Compare the line numbers to help determine which to keep. Code that collaborators changed or deleted appears in red. Code that you updated appears in green.

Committing Scripts to the Cloud

To commit your local edits to the cloud:

  1. Left-click a script, or hold Shift and left-click to select multiple scripts.

  2. Click Commit to commit all selected scripts to the cloud.

Merging Changes

If a collaborator commits to the same script that you're editing, an icon with a green ⊕ symbol appears in the Drafts window.

To merge their changes into your script:

  1. Identify which scripts you need to merge.

  2. Left-click a script, or hold Shift and left-click to select multiple scripts.

  3. Right-click any selected script.

  4. Click Merge from server to open the Merge Tools window. This window shows you how the latest edits relate to your own. If there are conflicting changes, you can pick which code to keep, or make manual edits.

    • Select Draft to keep your changes or leave it unchecked to discard them.
    • Select Server to merge the changes into your draft or leave it unchecked to ignore them.
    • Select Other to manually edit the script and save the changes to your draft.
  5. Once you check the desired options, toggle the Preview Resolution switch to preview how the script will look.

Restoring Deleted Scripts

If a collaborator deletes a script that you're editing, an icon with a red ⊘ symbol appears in the Drafts window:

To restore deleted scripts:

  1. Left-click a script, or hold Shift and left-click to select multiple scripts.
  2. Right-click any selected script.
  3. Click Restore Script. Scripts restore to the place's Workspace and you may need to manually re-parent them back to their original location.

Chatting with Collaborators

To chat with collaborators:

  1. In the View tab, click Chat.

  2. Click on the text box and type your message.

  3. Press Enter to send the message.

Saving and Publishing

If Team Create is on, Studio automatically saves the project to the cloud every five minutes. The Output window shows the place name and save location after the save is successful. Additionally, the status bar at the bottom of the Studio window shows when a save is in progress and when it's done.

Reverting to Previous Versions

The owners of an experience can revert changes made by other editors.

  1. Navigate to the experience's main page on the Roblox website.

  2. Click the button to the right of the experience title and select Configure this Place.

  3. On the target page, click Version History in the left column.

  4. Choose an earlier version and click Revert to this version to roll back.

Disabling Team Create

Owners of an experience can disable Team Create. When disabled, Studio forces all other collaborators to exit the session.

To disable Team Create:

  1. At the bottom of the Team Create window, click the button.

  2. Select Disable Team Create.

  3. When prompted, click Yes to end the session.