Publishing Experiences and Places

Experiences on Roblox are made up of individual places, comparable to scenes in Unity or maps in Unreal Engine. Each place contains all components for that portion of the experience, including its specific environment, parts, meshes, scripts, and user interface.

While an experience can consist of many places, each experience can only have one starting place that all users load into when they join. From within any place, you can teleport users to another place.

Starting place marked by a "spawn" icon
in the Asset Manager

Publishing a Starting Place

By default, publishing a new place creates a new experience. New experiences begin as private and are only accessible to you and members of your group with the correct permissions. When appropriate, you can release the experience to the public.

To publish a place as the starting place of an entirely new experience:

  1. In the Studio menu bar, select FilePublish to Roblox. A contextual menu displays.

  2. Fill in the following fields:

    • Name and Description – The experience name and a description that describes what a potential player should expect. You can set these to placeholders initially and later change them according to your final release and metadata best practices.

    • Creator – The creator you'd like to attribute as the creator of the experience.

    • Genre – The genre that best describes the experience.
    • Devices – Each applicable device type that you want to support. The default options are practical for most new creators.
  3. Click the Create button.

Once an experience is published, you can access the Game Settings menu which contains Studio-level settings and customization options for monetization, security, localization, and more.

Creating Additional Places

After you have published a starting place to create the overall experience, you can add additional places through the Asset Manager. To create a new place within an existing experience:

  1. From the View tab, open the Asset Manager.

  2. In its window, click the ☰ icon in the upper-left and select Places from the contextual menu. The starting place appears, marked by the "spawn" icon.


  3. Avoiding the thumbnail/name of your starting place, right-click in an empty region of the window and select Add New Place. A new place displays with a placeholder name of [New Place].

  4. Right-click the new place, select Rename, and enter a more descriptive name.

  5. When you double-click the new place, a new Studio session opens for editing the new place.

Releasing to the Public

New experiences begin as private and are only accessible to you and members of your group with the correct permissions. When appropriate, you can release an experience to the public as follows:

  1. Navigate to the Creator Dashboard.

  2. If you published the experience under a group account (recommended), select the group in the left column.

  3. Click the in the corner of the experience's thumbnail and select Make Public.

  4. Explore how to provide Experience Guidelines for the experience.

Linking to Experiences

Once an experience is public, you can copy its link from the Creator Dashboard and share it with others via social media or similar.

  1. Click the in the corner of the experience's thumbnail and select Copy URL.

  2. Share the copied URL with others as a direct link to the experience's landing page featuring a play button.

You can also share an experience directly from the Roblox app:

  1. Open the Roblox app on your mobile device.

  2. Locate the experience, typically under the Continue header on the home screen, and tap its tile to open the info screen.

  3. In the lower-left corner of the screen, click the button and select Share to open your device's sharing options.

Experience Guidelines

Experience Guidelines provide information on the experience's main page about what kind of content the experience contains so that users can make informed decisions about what they interact with. Roblox uses this information to recommend experiences on the Home and Discover pages based on each user's appropriate age group and regional content policies.

Each Experience Guideline has two components:

  • Age Recommendations – Indicates which age group an experience is suitable for based on child development research and industry standards. For more information, see Age Recommendations.
  • Content Descriptors – Indicates what type of content is within an experience, such as realistic depictions of blood or paid item trading.

See Experience Guidelines for instructions on supplying the necessary guidelines.

Reverting to Previous Versions

Roblox automatically retains saved versions of each place for version control and backup purposes. If you need to revert to a previously saved version:

  1. From the View tab, open the Asset Manager.

  2. In its window, click the ☰ icon in the upper-left and select Places from the contextual menu.

  3. Right-click the desired place and select View History. The version history window opens.

  4. Locate and select the version to revert to, then click the Open button to launch a new Studio session for the selected version.

Restarting Servers

When you make updates to a place that you want users to immediately be aware of, it's recommended to restart all servers, as your changes might not affect servers currently running your experience.

To restart all servers:

  1. Navigate to the Creator Dashboard.

  2. Click the in the corner of the experience's thumbnail and select Shut Down All Servers.

  3. Confirm shutdown by clicking the OK button.

Metadata Best Practices

Your experience's name and description create an important first impression and contribute to how easily users find your experience through Roblox's dynamic discovery systems.

Experience Name

All experiences should adhere to the following best practices for naming:

  • Keep the name consistent – Renaming an experience too often reduces the chances that users can find it using a previous name.

  • Avoid spamming – Frequent repetition of words or phrases may result in demotion of your experience.

  • Use decorations cautiously – Decorating the name with one or two well-placed emojis isn't harmful, but misplaced or excessive decorations can confuse users who quickly want to identify the experience.
  • Avoid unrelated text – Adding text which is unrelated to the core name, such as a current version release or the latest updates, can negatively affect the discovery and recognition of your experience.

Experience Description

A well-written description promotes the genre and unique qualities of your experience while also providing the best context for both users and Roblox's dynamic discovery systems.

  • Summarize your experience – Summarize what your experience is about in the first sentence, as this is your opportunity to present the most accurate impression of its genre and content.
  • Provide keywords – Include all keywords that may be relevant to your experience. This makes it easier for users and Roblox to understand the themes and genres presented in your experience.
  • Avoid spamming – Avoid repeating keywords or adding irrelevant keywords. This may result in demotion of your experience.