Version History lets you track, manage, and restore saved and published versions of a place. You can use it to create and find development checkpoints, collaborate with other creators, and quickly roll back to a known good state when needed.
With Version History, you have access to the following:
Version notes: Descriptive notes you can add to your saved and published places to create clear checkpoints for development milestones.
Search: Search across version notes to more easily find the place version you're looking for.
Advanced filtering: Filter by date range, save type (auto or manual), published saves, collaborator, and whether a save has version notes attached to it.
Tracking collaborators: Track who was in a place edit session and who saved the place.
Dockable widget: A Version History widget you can position anywhere in your Studio layout for easier access. You can access this widget by going to Window ⟩ Version History.

Create a save with version notes
- Go to File ⟩ Save to Roblox with Notes.
- Enter a version name and any notes you might have.
- Click Save.

You can also use the following keyboard shortcuts to save your current place version with version notes:
- Windows: Ctrl + Alt + S
- macOS: Cmd + Option + S
Publish with version notes
Version notes are required when publishing so you can clearly track what changes were released to your players. To publish with version notes:
- Go to File ⟩ Publish.
- Select Publish.
- Enter a version name and any notes you might have.
- Click Publish.
Generate publish notes
Studio can automatically draft publish notes for you by summarizing all of the version notes your team wrote between the previous publish and the current one. Because the summary is generated only from those version notes, no notes between the two publishes means no summary is generated; the more consistently your team logs notes on their saves, the more complete the summary is.
Generated notes are always optional and are never saved without your approval. You can edit, keep, or dismiss any summary before writing it to the version notes. To generate publish notes, use either of the following methods:
- Go to File ⟩ Publish with Notes, review and edit the drafted summary, then publish.
- Go to Window ⟩ Version History, then click Edit Notes on a published version.
Restore to a previous version
You can restore to a previous place version through Studio or the Creator Dashboard. This action creates a new version of the place.
Through Studio:
- Go to Window ⟩ Version History to open the Version History window.
- Click ⋮ next to the version you want to restore to.
- Click Open Local Copy to open a copy of the place in a new Studio session.
- In the new Studio session, go to File ⟩ Save to Roblox As.
- Select the game and place you want to overwrite.
- Confirm the action to restore to that version.
Through the Creator Dashboard:
- Go to Creations and select a game.
- Go to Configure ⟩ Places.
- Select the place you want to restore to a previous version.
- Go to Version History.
- Click Restore next to the version you want to restore to.
- Confirm the action to restore to that version.