---
title: "Configure experiences and places"
url: /docs/en-us/projects/configure-experiences
last_updated: 2026-06-15T22:00:01Z
description: "Explains how to configure experiences."
---

# Configure experiences and places

You can configure most experience and place-level settings from the [Creator Dashboard](https://create.roblox.com/dashboard/creations), a hub that lets you manage and access all of your Roblox creations in one place. It's useful to explore the left-hand navigation to see every configuration possible, such as those for [localization](/docs/en-us/production/localization.md), [analytics](/docs/en-us/production/analytics.md), and [monetization](/docs/en-us/production/monetization.md), but the following sections highlight notable workflows for most experiences.

## Generate content descriptors

The **Maturity & Compliance Questionnaire** contains a set of questions about the type of content players can possibly encounter within your experience, as well as how frequently it occurs. Your answers give Roblox an understanding of the content in your experience and ensure that the experience is available to the appropriate audience on the [Home](https://www.roblox.com/home) and [Discover](https://www.roblox.com/discover) pages according to each player's age group and regional content policies.

For step-by-step instructions on how to fill out the questionnaire, see [content maturity & compliance](/docs/en-us/production/promotion/content-maturity.md).

## Set age and geography restrictions

You can set restrictions so that only players over a certain age or from specific regions can play and discover your experiences. This is particularly helpful when you want to age up your audience without including mature content to age gate through content maturity labels.

To set age and geography restrictions:

1. Navigate to the [Creator Dashboard](https://create.roblox.com/dashboard/creations).
2. Click on the thumbnail of the experience for which you want to set age and geography restriction. The experience's **Overview** page displays.
3. In the left-hand navigation, navigate to **Audience** ⟩ **Access Settings**.
4. In the **Age** section, set **Minimum age** to the youngest age a player can have to access your experience.
5. In the **Region** section, enable every region that can access your experience.
6. At the bottom of the page, click the **Save Changes** button.

## Copy landing page link

After you publish your experience, Roblox generates a landing page for the experience referred to as the experience's **main details page**. You can access and copy this link from either the [Creator Dashboard](https://create.roblox.com/dashboard/creations) or the Roblox app, then share it with others so they can play your experience.

#### Creator Dashboard

1. Hover over an experience's thumbnail, click the **⋯** button, and select **Copy URL**.
2. Share the copied URL with others as a direct link to the experience's landing page featuring a **play** button.

#### Roblox app

1. Open the Roblox app on your mobile device.
2. Locate the experience, typically under the **Continue** header on the home screen, and tap its tile to open the info screen.
3. In the lower-left corner of the screen, click the **⋯** button and select **Share** to open your device's sharing options.

## Edit collaborator permissions

When creating and collaborating on experiences as part of a [group](/docs/en-us/projects/groups.md), abilities granted to group members are dependent on their **role permissions**. Owners or other group members with sufficient permissions can adjust play/edit/publish access and more on a per‑experience level, such as allowing a limited group role the ability to edit a specific experience even if that role cannot edit all experiences.

> **Info:** For step-by-step instructions on how to edit collaborator permissions, see [roles and permissions](/docs/en-us/projects/groups.md#roles-and-permissions).
## Access version history

Roblox automatically retains saved versions of each place for version control and backup purposes. You can access **Version History** in the Creator Dashboard to revert to a previously saved version of any place within an experience, or in Studio to leave notes attached to your saved place files.

For more information about accessing Version History, saving place files with notes, and reverting to previous place versions, see [Version History](/docs/en-us/projects/version-history.md).

## Allow copying

By default, all private and public experiences are locked so that you or your [group](/docs/en-us/projects/groups.md) are the only creators who have permission to edit its place files. However, if you want to allow other creators to be able to access an editable copy of your experience for their own creation process, you can **uncopylock** the experience. This is particularly helpful when you create templates or reference files for open use.

To allow the community to access an editable copy of your experience:

1. Navigate to the [Creator Dashboard](https://create.roblox.com/dashboard/creations).
2. Click on the thumbnail of the experience you want to allow players to copy. The experience's **Overview** page displays.
3. In the left-hand navigation, navigate to **Configure** ⟩ **Places**.
4. Click the **start place** marked with a star icon. The place's **Basic Settings** page displays.![Start place tile indicated in Places display on the Creator Dashboard](../assets/creator-dashboard/Places-Start-Place-Icon.png)
5. In the place's left-hand navigation menu, select **Permissions**.
6. Enable **Allow users to download a copy of this Place**.
7. Click the **Save Changes** button. Your experience is now uncopylocked and creators can access an editable copy of it from the experience's main page by clicking the **⋯** button and selecting **Edit in Studio**.

## Allow strong language

You can enable strong language and relax the text chat filter in your experiences for older players audiences. Doing so also adds a tag above your experience page to warn other players that your experience may include strong language:

![Label indicating the experience contains strong language](../assets/publishing/experiences-places-assets/Maturity-Label-Strong-Language.jpg)

Regardless of whether or not you activate the toggle, players do not face moderation consequences just for using strong language in chat or voice in experiences with Restricted content maturity labels, but they cannot violate [Community Standards](https://en.help.roblox.com/hc/en-us/articles/203313410#safety) and [Terms of Use](https://www.roblox.com/info/terms). For example, players can type an expletive if they are scared by a monster, but they cannot abuse another player using strong language or otherwise.

> **Warning:** In-experience assets and experience metadata cannot contain strong language, even if the toggle is on and your experience has a Restricted content maturity label. If you include strong language in your assets or experience page, your experience will be moderated.

To allow strong language between players in text chat within your experience:

1. Navigate to the [Creator Dashboard](https://create.roblox.com/dashboard/creations) and click on the thumbnail of the experience in which you want to allow strong language. The experience's **Overview** page displays.
2. In the left-hand navigation, navigate to **Audience** ⟩ **Communication Settings**.
3. Enable the **Allow Strong Language** toggle, then press the **Save Changes** button. Players within your experience can now use strong language in text chat.