---
title: "Private servers"
url: /docs/en-us/production/monetization/private-servers
last_updated: 2026-08-13T00:14:44Z
description: "Private servers are a subscription-based feature that allows players to decide who can play a game with them."
---

# Private servers

A **private server** is a subscription-based feature that allows a player to decide who can play a game with them. While private servers can be free, you can also use private servers as a method of monetization by charging players who want to access private servers a **monthly Robux fee**.

Private servers offer players privacy in circumstances like:

- Playing games with friends.
- Holding gatherings such as classes, meetings, or parties.
- Recording and/or streaming without other players.
- Gathering in-game resources.

> **Warning:** You cannot enable [paid access in Robux](/docs/en-us/production/monetization/paid-access-robux.md) or [paid access in local currency](/docs/en-us/production/monetization/paid-access-local-currency.md) and private servers at the same time.
> **Info:** Players under the age of 13 may not be able to join private servers depending on their privacy and parental control settings.
## Enable private servers

Before you can enable private servers, your game must be [public](/docs/en-us/production/publishing/publish-games-and-places.md#publiclimited-games).

To create a private server:

1. Navigate to the game's main page on the [Creator Dashboard](https://create.roblox.com/dashboard/creations).
2. In the left-hand navigation, expand **Audience** and then click **Access Settings**.
3. Toggle on **Allow private servers**. Additional settings appear for setting how to monetize private servers:
  - Enable **Requires Robux** and enter the amount of Robux you want players to pay to access private servers. The price you enter affects the amount of Robux you earn per sale.
  - Disable **Requires Robux** to make private servers free to all.
4. Click the **Save Changes** button.

> **Warning:** Changing the price of private servers **cancels all active subscriptions**. Players who had active subscriptions automatically receive a private message in their inbox about this change.